Travel Theme: Bark (Where’s my backpack?)

This is my first time doing the Travel Theme, but I love trees and in particular, the bark.  I find it so interesting.  Every kind of tree has different bark.  Some thick, some thin, some peeling, some with deep grooves, and on and on.  And let’s not forget all the colors tree bark comes in.  Mother Nature is truly remarkable.  The pictures below are from my walks in my neighborhood.

I used my Macro lens to take this one.  I just wanted to see what all the grooves would look like up close.
I love the peeling bark and bright colors underneath in this one.
I took this one because it looks like scales and I had to resist the urge to pull them all off.  Not really sure where the urge came from, but I just wanted to stick my finger under each one and just flip it off.
Not sure this is bark, but I love the weaving up the side of the tree.
I noticed this tree first because of the reddish color and then as I got closer, I saw the peeking bark.  It reminds me of curling ribbon.
