Week 27: Architecture (The Girl that Dreams Awake)

This past weekend my husband and I drove down to LA for the Cookie Convention.  Afterwards we decided to do a bit of the tourist thing since we realized we have never really looked around LA before except to go to Universal Studios or Disneyland.  Here are a few of the buildings we saw around town.

Grauman’s Chinese Theater – We walked part of the Hollywood Walk of Fame and of course we stopped to see all the celebrity hand and footprints out front.  

We stopped to get some souvenirs at a little shop next to Madame Tussaud’s.  I was quick in finding what I wanted and left the mad house of a store and waited for the rest of our party outside and took a picture of the Roosevelt Hotel.  One of my friends thought it had been the hotel Whitney Houston had died in, but when I looked it up it was actually the Beverly Hilton.  I just liked the building.  It reminded me of days long past.

I caught a picture of the Capital Records on our way up to  Griffith Observatory.  I wanted to get a better picture of it, but the traffic was crazy, so I settled for the drive by shot.

It took us awhile to get up to Griffith Observatory, the sun quickly going down and the temperature dropping as we went.  Finding parking was insane, but we did manage to find a spot close to the top.  We had hoped to get a picture of the Hollywood sign, but it was too dark by the time we got up there, but I did get a picture of the building.

There were still so many more touristy things to see in LA, but another storm was coming and we didn’t want get stuck because of more road closures due to flooding.  Next time!

