One Word Photo Challenge – Elder (Jennifer Nichole Wells)

In the past two years, my Grandma and her twin passed away.  They were two strong and beautiful women.  They were the youngest of 11 children and were born in Oklahoma.  My Grandma moved to California in her 20’s and my Aunt Judy travelled all around the country with her husband and family working on pipelines wherever the work took them.  I didn’t know about my Aunt Judy and the rest of my family in Oklahoma until I was a teenager.  I don’t know why my Grandma kept them from us.  She kept a lot of things close to heart.  She didn’t like people to know her business.  I wish I would’ve asked her a lot more questions before she died.  There were so many things I didn’t understand about her and our family, but I was raised to respect my elders and I just couldn’t push that boundary with her.  I will cherish all the times I had with her though.  She was a good Grandma.  She was always there for me when I needed her and I needed her a lot over the years.  Losing her was huge in my life.  I hope she is up in heaven with all of her family and my Dad.  I hope they are looking down and are proud of who I am becoming.  I think about them all the time.  I often ask myself, “What would Granny say?” when I feel stuck about something.  I hope to be a strong woman like my Granny and Aunt Judy were.  I am thankful to have women like them to look up to.

img_2427
My Granny with her devil horns. My sister got them for her as a joke because she had been very cranky with everyone.
img_2428
My Aunt Judy and I the last time I got to see her at my Granny’s funeral

 

