52 Week Photo Challenge: Week 21 – Peaceful 

The Girl the Dreams Awake

I know I’m a little late on this one, but I’m home sick with the flu.  I was going to write a short story, but my brain isn’t clear enough to get anything out, so I thought I would go through my feed to see what I missed and landed on this post.

Whenever I want to find peace, the first place I want to run to is the beach.  I love to hear the waves and feel the ocean breeze on my face.  The beach has always been my happy place ever since I lived in Australia.  I was actually terrified of the beach when I first moved there because of the movie “Jaws.”  I got over my fear though the stronger I got at swimming and the better I got at handling the waves.  The ocean being warm was a big plus too.

I like to run away to the beach a lot, but sometimes the beach isn’t a good idea, so when it’s too cold or pouring down rain like it has been recently, I go to the Monterey Bay Aquarium.  I enjoy wandering from exhibit to exhibit watching the marine life do their thing.  My two favorite exhibits are the kelp forest and the jellyfish.  The rhythm in these areas is slow which in turn has the same affect on my heart rate and breathing.  It’s so peaceful and mesmerizing.  I wish I lived closer.  I would probably go there everyday.  Maybe one day.

