Sorry I have been absent for quite awhile.  I had my wisdom teeth pulled and apparently getting it done after the age of 40 means a lot longer recovery time.  I knew it was going to be painful and unpleasant.  I’ve seen many family members and friends go through it by now, but man, it really friggin’ sucks.  It’s been 2 weeks and I’m still icing, taking
Advil, and eating little bits at a time.  At least I am eating solid food again, though very slowly, but it’s solid food and it’s glorious.  The worst of it though is the loss of my taste buds on the right side of my tongue.  The dentist says I could still get them back, but for now, I have to chew on the left side in order to enjoy food.  I am thankful to have taste buds the left side of my tongue.  For almost the first week after the extraction, everything, no matter what it was, tasted creamy.  It was gross.  I don’t think I’ll be able to eat cream for awhile.  The whole experience has made me wonder at the human body for sure and how amazing such a little thing as a taste bud can make a difference.  I really hope I get them back.  Cooking and eating just isn’t the same.

So thank you to all of you that are still following me after such a long absence.  I really didn’t expect to be away from the computer this long.  I want to wish everyone a Happy New Year and I hope you all have a wonderful year and if you’ve made some resolutions or set some goals, I wish you luck in seeing them through.  I am working on my list of goals for this year this week as I get back to reality.  Here we go into the unknown.

