JNW’S Halloween Challenge: Graveyard (Jennifer Nichole Wells)

As I have mentioned previously, I visited Tarrytown many years ago while visiting my sister in NYC.  We decided to go there because it is the home of Washington Irving, the man who wrote, The Legend of Sleepy Hollow.  It was almost Halloween and the town was decorated with flags such as this one with the Headless Horseman on it.kbday2nyc-188

It gave it a bit of a spooky feel about town.  As we explored the town, I tried to imagine what it must have been like at the time when Mr. Irving wrote, The Legend of Sleepy Hollow.  The Headless Horseman is definitely one of those characters you will never forget.  He is a sad yet terrifying character caught in limbo searching for his missing head.  I have not read the book yet, thought it is on my list.  I have seen the 1999 movie with Johnny Depp and Christina Ricci which was okay.  I have also seen recent Sleepy Hollow TV show which I liked until the last few episodes of last season.  I loved how they incorporated bits of history and other myths/legends.  I hope to one day create a character just as spooky and unforgettable.

Before we hopped on the train back to NYC, we visited the local graveyard.  Here are the rest of the pictures I took there.

kbday2nyc-204

kbday2nyc-198

kbday2nyc-197

