Share Your World (Cee’s Photography)

What are you really glad you did yesterday?

I took time to rest yesterday and not feel guilty about it.  The not feeling guilty allowed me to finally really let go and actually relax my muscles, my brain, my everything and get some good recuperating sleep.  Then I got up and was able to spend some time with my husband without feeling all grumpy and tired.

Would you prefer a one floor house or multiple levels?

I prefer a one story.  I’ve lived in both and not having stairs just really makes life easier for moving, furniture buying, grocery shopping, and that last minute rush searching for keys or shoes doesn’t involve having to go up and down searching so that by the time you find them and get out of the house, you’re ready for a nap instead of ready for work.  Also when you have small children, it is much easier to find them in a one story than a multi-level house.  Generally if you make them laugh, you can hear them in any room in a one story, not so for a multi-level.  Also cleaning a multi-story house sucks.  Having to drag vacuums, mops, and cleaning supplies up and down stairs makes you not want to clean.  At the last house where we had multi-levels, we ended up also having multiple vacuums, mops, and cleaning supplies, so that our lazy butts would keep up the cleaning.

Have you done something you truly want to do today?

Yes, I went to pick up our painted pottery projects today.  They came out so good.  It’s amazing how the colors change after they’ve been fired.  I really wanted to stay and paint another project, but I was also tired and just wanted to get home especially with the wind picking up and the dark clouds rolling in.

What plans did you have as a teenager that didn’t happen? Are you happy it didn’t work out that way?

I had planned to marry my high school sweet heart.  We had even decided to elope during the first Christmas break I was in college, but by the time we drove to Reno, Nevada and checked in to our hotel, I had had one of those moments where my life past, present, and possible future flashed before my eyes.  My future with him just didn’t seem right.  We both wanted to go in different directions and I wasn’t willing to put my plans on hold to follow him and he felt the same.  We stayed in Reno that night, but early the next morning he took me back to school and I never saw him again.  I’ve looked him up a few times over the years and it seems like he has done well for himself and that makes me think we both made the right choice.  I would never have met my husband if I hadn’t finished school and got into the mental health field.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful for spending time with my family at this year’s Light the Night walk.  More family members came this year than last, so that was a win in and of itself.  I also got to talk to and get to know a new family member more through out the night.  A year ago, we got to add another member to our family thanks to the one of those DNA tests that check your ancestry.  My sister in law had also done one of those tests and there was a family match.  It was very surreal to think that there was this person out there always wondering about the family he had never known and these two little tests brought us all together.  It’s been a wild and crazy year, but wonderful to have even more family to join us in in celebration and support.

This week I am looking forward to watching more scary movies and getting into the Halloween spirit.  I also need to watch this week’s episode of “The Walking Dead” before I see any spoilers.  Are they going to stick to the comic or go in a different direction?  I must know.

Also, I can’t wait for Halloween.  I love seeing all the kids in their costumes and seeing what’s popular and how creative people get.  Plus, there’s the candy.  I tried the new Reese’s PB cups stuffed with Reese’s pieces.  It was good.  The Reese’s pieces gave the PB cup a little crunch, but I have to say I like the Crunchy PB cups more.  I like the crunch of peanuts better than the crunch of the Reese’s candy shell.

