Share Your World (Cee’s Photography)

If you wanted to de-clutter where you live, what room / space would you start with? (And why, if you’re feel like admitting to it.)

Right now I live in a tiny apartment after previously living in a large home.  Every room is cluttered because we have too much for this small space, but don’t want to get rid of anything because we hope to be back in a house in the next year.  Let me rephrase that.  After moving here, I got rid of a lot and then again this past summer I went back through the whole apartment getting rid of more, yet it’s still cluttered.  I think the room I would most like to de-clutter most is my bedroom.  Clutter makes me crazy and I know I would sleep better if I didn’t have to be surrounded by it.  I’m constantly cleaning and organizing, but my husband is good at bringing it all back.  He never puts anything back where is belongs.  Ugh!

If you want to remember something important, how do you do it (sticky note on the fridge, string around your finger, etc.), and does it work?

I have a really hard time remembering things especially since I have become so fatigued over the last year.  After forgetting to pay bills or keep appointments, I started searching for ways to keep ducks in a row so to speak.  The two things that have helped me most is the bullet journal I started where I keep a running list of things I need to do, buy, go, etc.  I also have lists; 1) story ideas, 2) gift ideas, 3) blog ideas, 4) picture ideas.  The other thing I have recently started is programming reminders into my phone because my fatigue has gotten worse in the last month and I can’t seem to hold anything in my head for long, so the reminders on my phone have been really helping to keep the priority “to do’s” present in my mind.

If you could create a one room retreat just for yourself, what would be the most important sense to emphasize: sight (bright natural light, dim light, etc.), hearing (silence, music, fountain, etc.), smell (candles, incense, etc), touch (wood, stone, soft fabrics, etc.), or taste (herbal tea, fresh fruit, etc.)?

That’s a really hard one to choose, but I think it would touch.  If I didn’t touch and feel comfortable in my retreat, then the other senses wouldn’t matter because I wouldn’t be able to relax no matter how good the smells, the sounds, etc.

If you could interview one of your great-great-great grandparents, who would it be (if you know their name) and what would you ask?

I would love to know more about my Native American family.  I am part of the Seneca- Cayuga tribe, but like many others, our tribe was moved from the East Coast to Oklahoma. I would love to interview and hear what it was like before the tribe was moved.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week was a pretty tough.  Fighting the tiredness was particularly hard.  I felt like I was walking through water all week, just struggling, so I was most grateful for coffee.  An added bonus, was that it’s Fall and my coffee this week was Pumpkin Spice flavored.  It made me feel less angry that I was having to drink it.

I finished an embroidery project this week and so I am excited to find my next project to work on.  I’m heading to Michael’s later today to see what jumps out at me.  I’m also excited get back back the pottery I painted yesterday.  My little charges didn’t have school yesterday, so we went to Petroglyphs to paint pottery.  The girls painted coffee mugs and I painted a chips and salsa bowl as a gift for my niece who’s birthday is on Halloween.  We were so into our painting, we didn’t realize we had been there for 3 hours until our tummies started rumbling and I was wishing for another cup of coffee.

 

