Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge (Cee’s Photography)

This is Andy Goldsworthy’s Wood Line at the Presidio in San Francisco.  I only just discovered this place last year.  For those of you who may not know, the Presidio is a former military base in San Francisco.  After it’s closure, the city has slowly been converting it, the land and the buildings for civilian use.   Some of my favorite things to do there now is the Walt Disney Museum, where you can not only watch Disney movies, but also learn about the life of Walt Disney.  I also love to go to the “Off the Grid” picnics on Sundays, where you can have lunch from any one of the featured food trucks and listen to live music.  Many people also bring lawn games like horse shoes, bean bag toss, and all kinds of ball games.  It’s a great way to spend the day.

I found Andy Goldsworthy’s Wood Line on Instagram and I knew I had to see it for myself.  It really is quite amazing.  It goes on for more than 1,200 ft.  I only balanced part way down it, but it definitely made me feel like a kid again.  I loved gymnastics as a kid and I remember always trying to find things to balance on like a balance beam.  Anything from sidewalk curbs to low walls.  Andy Goldsworthy has a few other art installations within the park, but I have only seen one other, the Earth Wall.  My sister took me to the Presidio Officer’s Club to see the museum there and to check out the findings of the archeological digs in the Presidio.  It’s another interesting stop if you are visiting San Francisco.

img_0495

 

