JNW’s Halloween Challenge: Pumpkin (Jennifer Nichole Wells)

As I have mentioned before, I used to be a preschool teacher.  In planning my curriculum for each theme I taught, I always tried to include science somehow.  Halloween has so many experiments to choose from.  For this one, we needed a pumpkin.  So we went on a field trip to the pumpkin patch and got ourselves a pumpkin.  Then I drew out 3 different faces we could carve and let them vote which one we would use.  We opened up the pumpkin and examimg_2386ined it with our 5 senses and talked about our observations.  Then we all worked together to scoop out the seeds, which we later baked for our afternoon snack.  Finally, we worked together to carve the pumpkin.  They helped do the nose and part of the mouth.  I did the rest while they took their naps.  The next day we did one of our favorite experiments.  I let them sprinkle in some baking soda and then they got to take turns pouring in the colored vinegar.  They thought it was fun to see the suds come out of the pumpkin’s mouth.  I learned that I we should’ve carved the face higher so the suds would have time to build up before spilling out.  If you have kids or grandkids, it’s a fun experiment to do for sure.

