If you haven’t noticed, I have been trying different writing and photo prompts lately.  I wanted to do something other than the Daily Word Prompt.  I have been scheduling my blogs lately now that I am back at work and fitting everything into my routine has been hard.  Writing has become essential for me now though so fit it in I must.  I feel better when I let the words flow through my fingers and see them appear on the screen. So in order to keep writing, I choose the topics that automatically get my brain going.  Today’s Topic is: Share Your World – Cee’s Photography   Cee poses different questions each week that helps you share a little bit of your world plus she answers the questions herself.  Here are my answers to this week’s questions.

Have you ever owned a rock, pet rock, or gem that is not jewelry?

I love rocks and on occasion I have picked rocks that have caught my attention and kept them.    I used to always look for rocks at the beach.  I love rocks that have been smoothed out with time.  I found a rock once that was a dark red color and was shaped roughly like a heart.  I kept it for a long time.  It moved with me through college from dorm to dorm, then apartment to apartment.  Finally one day a short time after I graduated, I walked halfway across the Golden Gate Bridge kissed the rock and threw it into the bay.  To this day, I really don’t know why.  Maybe my brain will clue me in one of these days.

What is your greatest strength or weakness?

One of my greatest strength’s is being able to hold it together during a crisis.  Whenever something happens, I go into action mode.  I list out the things that needed to be done and either do them myself or delegate.  I remain calm and on task until the crisis has passed or I have passed it on to others (i.e. passing the person in my care off to an EMT or getting them to the ER and letting the doctors and nurses take over).  Something just switches in my brain.  I can stay in this state for hours.  I have had some crazy jobs where this strength has come in handy like working in a treatment facility for adolescents with mental health issues or as a CNA in an old folks home.  I even had to use these skills while working at McDonald’s many, many, years ago.  A man got upset because he couldn’t use an expired coupon.  It was the middle of the dinner rush and he started ranting and raving at all the other customers in the lobby.  Then when he was asked to leave, he kicked the door, breaking the door and the glass in it.  That was a crazy night, but myself and the other manager went into immediate action taking care of the things that needed to be done as well as keeping the restaurant going and the food coming out.  I don’t remember where I first heard the old saying, “It’s better to be a help than a hinderance”, but it has stuck with me and become this strength within me.

What makes you feel grounded?

The one thing that really brings me back to earth is sitting at the beach listening to the waves.  The sound of the waves crashing on the beach calms my brain.  It helps me clear my mind, relax and eventually put everything back in perspective.  It’s also generally cooler at the beach than it is where I live and that helps a lot too.  I love the feel of the ocean breeze in my hair and on my skin.  Gosh, I miss living close to the beach.

Would you rather never be able to eat warm food or never be able to eat cold food?

That’s a hard one for me since I often crave both depending on my mood and sometimes the weather, but I guess if I had to choose it would be cold food.  I love sandwiches and salads as they are often a go to food for me because they are quick, easy to make and let’s not forget delicious.  Another cold food favorite is sushi.  Mmmmmm…

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week, I survived a nasty stomach flu and I am grateful to have had my husband to take care of me and get the things I needed.  He has truly been a blessing to me since the day we met.

This week I am looking forward to continuing my goal of walking everyday and figuring out what my next creative project is going to be.  I am trying to keep my creative brain working and happy.  I guess I will have to search Pinterest and see what pops out at me.

 

