Photo Courtesy of pixabay.com

August 31, 2016 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story about a goodbye. It can be the last polka until next time; a farewell without end; a quick see ya later. How does the goodby inform the story. What is the tone, the character’s mood, the twist? Go where the prompt leads. (Respond by September 13, 2016 – Carrot Ranch Communications)

I’m laying here next to you watching as you sleep.  I want to wake you to say goodbye, but I can’t.  I have to go.  I want you to have the life you’ve always dreamed of and it doesn’t include me.  I’m just a distraction.  A summer fling.

I’ll never forget the night we ate funnel cake as the sunset.  You got whip cream on your nose.  I couldn’t stop laughing.  We talked for hours.  We shared sweet kisses and whispered words, but the world awaits.  My backpack is ready to go and you have college waiting for you.

