Have any of you found yourselves invited to a birthday party and are excited to see all the old friends again, etc., but then realize….AAAAAHHHHHH!  You need to find a birthday present.  I found myself in such a predicament this week.  I was invited to a party for this weekend for a friend who is extremely hard to buy presents for.  She is one of those people who can pretty much buy herself whatever she wants and does, so buying her presents is hard.  For the over 20 years that I have known her, I have had to come up with some interesting ideas, most of them handmade.  This year I really had to brainstorm.  As I have mentioned in other posts, I have been trying to tap into my creative side again.  So I started scouring the internet for something I could make for her.

As I searched, I remembered when we used to live together, we had a drawer full of dish towels, so many it was hard to close when they were all clean.  She loved dish towels.  We had one for every season, funny ones, colorful ones, and ones we would find on road trips or when she would travel.  So with that in mind, I narrowed my search to embroidery patterns that she might like.  I finally settled on the one pictured above because of thatSAM_5602 one time we saw Nelly in Las Vegas a few years ago.  I forget what night club we were at, but the table we had was close to where he came out to do a few songs.  I had my camera out as I always do (it’s the scrapbooker in me) and got a few good shots.  This one was the best of them.  My friend has gone on to see him many more times and loves his show Nellyville on BET.  I have not done any embroidery work in quite awhile.  My Mom taught me when I was maybe 8 or 9.  She had us make dish towels and hankies.  I didn’t really remember the stitches, so I turned to You Tube for a little refresher course as seen here if you should decide to get creative yourself.  I got everything I needed at Joann’s, traced out the pattern I got from Urban Threads, ironed it on and got to work.  I had no time to waste.  The party is this Saturday.

I wasn’t happy with my stitches at first.  I pulled them out, started again and you, dear readers, are my witness, I got my embroidery groove back and finished it on time.  I really enjoyed making this present.  It was fun doing something I hadn’t done in a long time.  It brought back a lot of memories of when my sister and I were little sewing with our Mom.  She let us pick out the patterns we wanted to do and even let us iron them on ourselves.  I remember feeling so grown up because I got to use the iron.  My Mom would read to us while we worked on our projects.  I was so proud of myself every time I finished a project and got to put it in my chest to save for when I had a place of own.  When I left Australia to come back to America, I didn’t get to bring those things with me.  I wish I would have, but now it gives me an excuse to make some for me, especially since I know I can still do it.   For part two of my present, I am going to take the kids I’m a Nanny for to make candles.  I’m going to try and figure out a way to make the candle match the dish towel.  Maybe using the same color scheme?  Who knows, but I can’t wait. It should be a fun afternoon.  Have a great weekend everyone!

