Today I find myself sitting at the bottom of the ocean.  I came all the way out here to escape the world.  I’m so tired of chasing the American dream.  I’m so tired of life right now.  I need a break from texts, emails, push notifications, faxes, meetings, working lunches, drinks with clients, soccer games, play dates, number crunching, and all the rest. I just need to get away from the hustle and the bustle.  I need to get away from all the noise.

So, here I am sitting at the bottom of the ocean, away from it all.  It’s so quiet and peaceful down here.  I’m sitting still between the rocks, trying my best to blend in.  Just here mesmerized as the fish swim by.  They move so fast with those fins that look so paper thin.  I have all these muscles in my body, yet I can’t move as fast or as graceful as these tiny fish.  I watch them and wonder what they are thinking.  Do they think the same way we do?  Do they worry?  Do they ever think of escaping from their lives down here below the surface?  Do they ever wonder what it would be like to leave the ocean?  Do they know about land and all that goes on up there with the humans and animals?  Or do they just get to be down here blissfully unaware going about their day until they come along a weirdo like me?  I could sit here for hours wondering about their lives coming up with infinite questions about what goes on in their little heads.  Sadly though, my tank of air will run out  soon.  I don’t want to waste any of the time I have left.  I want to take it all in, so when things get tough, I can take a minute to day dream about this day.  I will remember how relaxed I felt just watching the fish.  The tension leaving my muscles from my shoulders to my toes.  Letting go of the feelings to hurry, hurry, hurry and do, do, do.  Deep breathe in.  Deep breathe out.  Heart going from racing to a meditative rate.  Just living in the moment.  Forgetting the past and not worrying about the future.  Feeling the rhythm of the ocean and just getting lost.

