Kiera woke up to the sound of a text.  She didn’t want to look at it.  She knew who it was from.  It was from the same person who had texted her the last fifty times.  She reached out and turned off the sound on her phone.  She thought she had already done that, but apparently she hadn’t.  She threw the blankets over her head, closed her eyes and tried to go back to sleep.  She was just drifting off again when there was a knock on her bedroom door.

“Are you awake Kiera?” Shelley, her roommate, called through the door.

“I guess.  What do you want?” she mumbled.

“Your Mom is on the phone and she says she’s going to keep calling until you get on the phone and talk to her.  I can’t handle the phone ringing all day.  Please talk to her.”

Kiera sat up and rubbed her eyes.  She really didn’t want to talk to her Mom.  She wasn’t ready to deal with it.

Shelley begged, “Please, Please, Please.  I have to study today and I really don’t want to go to the library.  It’s a pajama day.  I just want to stay in my pajamas and study.  C’mon.  Please K.”

Kiera didn’t want to put Shelley in the middle.  She got up, opened the door, whispered “Sorry”, and took the phone.  Shelley whispered “Good Luck” and walked back to her room.

Kiera walked back to her bed, sat down, and took a deep breath before putting the phone to her ear and saying, “What do you want Mom?”

“I want to talk to you thus the call.  I have been trying to call you all night.  Why haven’t you picked up your phone?” her Mom yelled, then took a deep breath and continued a little quieter, “I was really getting worried.”

“Did it ever occur to you that I wasn’t picking up my phone because not only did I NOT want to talk to you, but that I wasn’t ready to talk to you.  I needed some time.  What you said really hurt Mom.  Why can’t you see that?”  Kiera got tears in her eyes.  She didn’t want to cry anymore.  She had cried most of the night only falling asleep a few hours ago.

Her Mom sighed before saying, “Kiera, I didn’t intend to hurt you.  I love you.  I will always love you.  I’m your Mom.  But I couldn’t stand by and let you be with that guy without telling you how I feel.  That’s what mother’s do.  The things that mother’s think and say aren’t always what their kids want to hear, but they need to be said anyway.”

“Really Mom.  You couldn’t take a beat to think about it.  You just met him yesterday.  You talked to him for like 5 minutes before you started making assumptions about him.  You didn’t even give him a chance.  I saw it on your face.  I saw you decide you weren’t going to like him and from that moment on you were rude to him and to me.  I have been dating him for almost a year and I love him Mom.  I have met his family.  I have been on outings with his friends.  I have gone on road trips with him.  I have fun whenever I’m with him and I have finally found someone I can be myself with.  He makes me smile and laugh like I’ve never laughed before.  I waited till I had done all those things.  I waited till I was sure about him and my feelings before I brought him to meet you because I know how critical you are.  But you, YOU couldn’t give him a chance.  So what do you want from me Mom?  I love him and I’m going to stay with him no matter what you say or think.  You’re not always right you know.”  Kiera ran out of steam and just stopped talking.  She had held the tears back so far, but they were right there ready to spill over at any minute.

Her Mom took a few deep breaths before responding.  “Look Kiera.  I just heard him start talking about his plans to go to grad school, then so on and so forth and it didn’t sound like you were anywhere in those plans.  And…”

Kiera interrupted, “Oh my God Mom!  He was trying to tell you about himself.  I knew it.  You were just looking for a reason to not like him and you clung on to the first thing you thought you heard.  Why do you do that?  I really like this guy.  He could tell you didn’t approve and he was hurt.  He was very nervous about meeting you, but I kept telling him it would work out alright.  That you would like him even though I had doubts since you haven’t liked one of my boyfriends.  So because of my lie, we ended up getting into a fight after you left all because of you and then you called and just had to go on and on and not letting me get a word in edgewise.  So, unless you have something to nice to say now, this conversation is over.”

“I…I…I don’t know what to say,” her Mom stuttered out.

“Well, I guess that says it all.  I’m done Mom.  I’m done trying to please you.  I’m an adult now.  I live on my own.  I have a job.  I’m in school.  I’m doing okay, so unless you can be supportive and positive in my life, then I think I need you to not be in my life.  I love you Mom, but every time I see you now, all I get from you is negativity.  I haven’t had a good conversation, a nice conversation with you since I was 16 and it’s getting old.  It hurts Mom.  So, I’m done.”

Her Mom was stunned into silence.  That is not where she thought this call was going.

Not getting a response from her Mom, Kiera ended the call and immediately started crying.  Shelley heard her and came down the hall to check on her.  Kiera didn’t want to talk, so Shelley just grabbed the tissues from her room and sat on the bed with Kiera until she stopped crying.

“Thanks Shelley.  You don’t have to sit here with me.  My Mom’s just being her usual self and I’m not going to take it anymore.  I love Max.  He’s a really great guy, but once again she can’t take the time to get to know him before passing judgement.  I have lost so many great guys because of her.  I have let the stupid little things she says get into my head and cast doubts when there should be none and it’s not going to happen this time.  I think Max is the one and I’m not going to lose him.  Which reminds me, I need to go and talk to him.  I was so angry with my Mom and embarrassed and we ended up getting into a fight last night.  I hope I didn’t screw it up already.  I better go get in the shower and go see him.”

“Are you sure you’re up to talking to him?”  Shelley asked.

“Yeah, I love him Shelley.  I have to fix this now.”  Kiera got up and started searching for an outfit.

“Ok, I’ll be here later if you want to talk about your Mom or you just want to hang out.”

“Thanks Shelley.  I knew there was a reason I chose you to be my BFF,” Kiera said with a smile.  “You like Max right?  I’m not crazy about all this?”

“Max is amazing K.  If you don’t make it happen with him, then I might just have to move in on him myself,” Shelley winked at her and then said, “But a serious note,  I’ve never seen you so happy.  I’m sorry your Mom sucks, but maybe she’ll come around.”

Kiera walked over and gave her friend a hug.  “Thanks for that Shell.  I don’t think my Mom really heard me, but I’m not going to worry about that now.  I gotta go talk to Max.”

Shelley went back to her room to study and Kiera jumped in the shower.  She got out, got dressed, put her hair up in a messy bun, grabbed her purse and car keys, and ran out the door, but came up short when she saw her Mom was leaning against her car and it looked like she had been crying.  Kiera crossed her arms and just stood there.  She would not be swayed by her Mother’s tears.  Her Mom crossed the yard and stood in front of her.

“I owe you an apology honey.  I’m sorry I haven’t been there for you.  What you said was right.  I did jump all over him.  I didn’t give him a chance.  I haven’t given any of them a chance.  I was jealous.  They all got to spend time with you.  They all know you better than I do now and I took it out on them instead of just talking to you about how I was feeling.  I acted like a little kid.  I definitely didn’t handle it well at all and I let it go on for far too long.  I hope you can forgive me.  I know it won’t happen over night, but I’m hopeful.  Thanks for listening.  I’ll go now since it looks like you were on your way out.”  She turned around and walked to her car.

Kiera thought about stopping her, but she didn’t.  She had been shocked to see her mother and she certainly hadn’t expected her to say all that.  She’s been so upset with her Mom for so long now.  Her Mom was right.  This was going to take time.  She needs to get past her anger and hurt feelings before she can really sit down and talk to her about everything.  All she could do today was go to Max and hope she could fix things with him, but who knows what tomorrow will bring as they say.

 

 

