I woke up this morning,

so many aches in my bones,

rubbing the sleep out of my eyes,

wishing I could lay back down,

but it’s time to face the world.

I shower away the sleepiness,

listening to music,

waking up the brain,

still wishing I could lay back down,

but it’s time to face the world.

I start the coffee brewing,

wash the dishes in the sink,

scramble up some eggs,

still wishing I could lay back down,

but it’s time to face the world.

I finish up my breakfast,

struggle to put on my shoes,

dreading having to go outside,

still wishing I could lay back down,

but it’s time to face the world.

I stand at the door,

hand on the knob,

putting on my false face,

still wishing I could lay back down,

but instead, I try to keep healing and try to keep living,

and so out I go out to conquer the world,

to conquer the fear, to get back to being me.

I have to keep trying.  Never give up!  Never surrender!

And May the Force be with Me!

 

