As soon as I saw today’s Daily post, I thought of food.  I love food way too much, but I can’t help it.  Just smellin’ a good meal cookin’ in the kitchen can brighten my mood.  Passing a bakery with all the beautiful goods in the window can make me stop and at least check out the what’s inside.  As soon as the Food Network became a thing, it was a go-to channel for me.  Watching all those trained chefs, home chefs and even the occasional disastrous cook is just fascinating.  It’s amazing what can be created combining random ingredients.  I always sit there and think to myself, “Who was the first person to think of combining all the ingredients to make a cake and then was that same person the one who came up with frosting or did that come much later?”  I know I could probably find the answers to the crazy questions that come to mind by simply Googling them, but I find it more fun to just wonder about how amazing it must’ve been for that first cake baker when they finally got the measurements right and knew as they smelled that delicious sugary smell that when they  opened the oven and removed the cake, it would be cooked to perfection.  Then there’s not just the cooking, but also the plating or decorating or dressing the food.  Seeing pretty food certainly helps in the wanting the food, but lord knows not all pretty food tastes good.  I am definitely not great at making pretty food.  Every now and then I do alright like with these yummy red velvet snowflake cookies.  They aren’t perfect, but they IMG_2875didn’t look totally terrible and they were delicious if I do say so myself.  I love baking more than I like cooking, but I love to cook too.  I haven’t been in the mood to cook for over a year though.  My work had been stressing me out and just plain robbing me of my creative energy.  Usually, cooking or baking helps me when I’m stressed, but I think I got so overwhelmed, I lost my spark.  In the last couple of weeks, I have been trying to get back some of my energy and back to who I was before my job zapped me dry.  I decided to try something new.  Instead of scouring my Pinterest boards and printing all the recipes I intend to try, I needed to start slow.  My sister told me to try Blue Apron.  They send you all the ingredients and all you have to do is follow the recipes.  I have now tried 3 different meals and they were all mostly good.  Some of the sides weren’t things I was used to cooking, so I probably didn’t do them justice.  Overall though, it has been great to get back into the kitchen again.  This blog’s featured image at the top is last nights dinner, Seared Pork Chops & Fig Compote.  Why haven’t I ever made fig compote before?  Soooooooo gooooooooooood!

