I have been making my way through The Selection series by Kiera Cass and I was surprised to see another book in this series after the way The One ended.  Don’t get me wrong, I liked the first three books as a whole, but I liked the way I thought the story ended with me imagining the Happily Ever After from there on out.  So, to find out that the next book was not about Prince Maxon and Lady America, but their daughter, at first, I thought okay, this could work.

Book Synopsis:

The Heir by Kiera Cass

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

From the minute I started reading, the story was totally different.  With the first three books, I couldn’t put them down despite the fact that Lady America annoyed me.  I finished each of those books in a day whereas this book took me almost ten days to finish.  I had to keep pushing myself to pick it up and the main reason is the character Princess Eadlyn.  I thought Lady America was frustrating, but it turns out Princess Eadlyn is even more so.  I was hoping that I would grow to like her the way I eventually did with Lady America, but no such luck.

Then there was the story.  With the first three books, there was so much going on with the girls getting to know each other, all the dating, the rebel attacks, and of course the love triangle.  This book really has nothing going on except the Selection, but this Selection doesn’t even have a program like the one Lady America had to endure.  The girls were constantly being tested, they had to attend classes, and do reading.  The boys of the Selection just basically sit around waiting to spend time with Princess Eadlyn who doesn’t want to have anything to do with them.  What happened to all the extra curriculars?  How is she supposed to know if they would make a good Prince Consort if she chose them?   There just seemed to be so much missing from this book compared to the others.  I’m not sure if I will continue onto The Crown though I did put myself on the wait list just in case I do decide to read it.

