The One is the third novel in The Selection Series.  It is the last novel that is directly about Prince Maxon, Lady America, and Aspen.  After reading The Elite,  I was seriously annoyed with Lady America, but not enough so to stop reading the series all together.  I am a sucker for a mystery and I hadn’t figured out the underlying story of the rebels.  Plus, yes, I really did want to know if the Prince and the Lady ended up together.  I don’t usually include anything that could be seen as *spoilers*, but there are a few below this time, so be warned.  Stop now if you don’t want to know.

The One by Kiera Cass

Book Synopsis:

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown–or to Prince Maxon’s heart.  But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose–and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

After the secret of Officer Leger’s identity finally comes out at the end of the last book and Lady America narrowly misses being sent home, this book starts out right where the last left off and gets moving quickly.  Prince Maxon and Lady America take a meeting with representatives of the Northern Rebels in secret and the mysteries begin to unravel.  I had kind of guessed a little of what their motives were from the hints that were given, but I really thought that there was more to the Southern Rebel attacks than just pure revenge.  I had it in my head that the King was actually behind the attacks to stop the Selection because he didn’t want to give up his throne and that he was the ones supplying the Southern Rebels with guns, poisons, etc.  I guess my imagination really got away with me there.

I was still quite annoyed with Lady America’s attitude in this one, though thank goodness there was so much going on, there wasn’t much time for her to sit around and think about it all.  There were alliances to be made, plans to put in motion, and yet still other secrets to be found.  This book is constantly moving and hard to put down.  I actually had to go to a family birthday party right when I got to the last quarter of the book, so I had to keep sneaking a few pages here and there when I could, like when we came to a standstill in traffic or when there was a lull in activity at the party.  I felt so guilty, but I wanted to finish it.

And what series wouldn’t be complete without a few deaths of key characters?  When Lady America’s father dies it is no surprise.  He is the only one she is truly close to and depends on when she is in a jam.  But when one of her fellow Ladies is killed, it came as a complete surprise and I actually had to stop and go back and reread it a few times for it to sink in.

All-in-all this book is a wonderful ending to the story of two people that find love in the midst of all the craziness going on around them.  I recommend this book to anyone who loves YA books with romance mixed up in a mystery.

 

