I was having trouble finding an audiobook to listen to on my Overdrive app this weekend. I always have an audiobook loaded on my phone for when I’m driving (it keeps the road rage to a minimum) and also for when I’m cooking or cleaning. So when I wasn’t finding anything available from my TBR list (putting myself on quite a few wait lists in the process), I started wracking my brain of other possible books I hadn’t searched for yet. I just finished a Doctor Who book not long ago and realized I had never checked Overdrive for Doctor Who books in all the years I’ve used the app, so I looked it up and low and behold there were a couple audiobooks available. I chose, The Stone Rose by Jacqueline Rayner because it featured the Tenth Doctor and Rose. I got an even bigger surprise when I started it and the voice of David Tennant began narrating the story. I had definitely made the right choice for sure.

Book Synopsis: Mickey is startled to find a statue of Rose in a museum – a statue that is 2,000 years old. The Doctor realizes that this means the TARDIS will shortly take them to Ancient Rome, but when it does, he and Rose soon have more on their minds than sculpture. While the Doctor searches for a missing boy, Rose befriends a girl who claims to know the future. But then the Doctor stumbles on the hideous truth behind the statue of Rose – and Rose herself learns that you have to be very careful what you wish for…

This is book is a very quick listen and with David Tennant reading it in his wonderful voice, you really don’t want to stop listening till you have to. It is an abridged version at only 2 discs long. Just like the show, the story starts out with something weird happening. In this case it’s Mickey taking Rose to see a statue he’s found at a museum that looks just like Rose dressed as the Goddess Fortuna though she happens to be wearing the same earrings Rose is presently wearing. Rose knows what that means. She and the Doctor are going on an adventure to Ancient Rome to find out how Rose’s statue came to be. As soon as they land in Rome, they find that things are a bit off and begin finding clues immediately. The Doctor and Rose start looking for a boy who has gone missing which eventually leads them in two different directions; Rose into the clutches of a man with a dangerous power and the Doctor finds himself in the middle of the Coliseum and everyone is expecting a show to the death. I don’t want to give away too many, as River Song would say, *spoilers* since this is such short book, but I will say it is a fun adventure with a few emotional moments mixed in just to mess with your head. Can they figure it all out and make it back to each other in one piece? You’ll have to read the book yourself to find out.

