Thanks to Netflix, I was able to finally sit down and watch the new Doctor Who series from the Ninth Doctor to the Eleventh.  I had heard so much about the series for years from friends, but I have this thing where I hate to start a show from the middle.  I’m the same way with books series’ too.  I like to get to know the characters and their backstories in the order they were meant to be known.   So I waited and waited till I could sit down and watch them from the beginning.  I’m glad I did.  It started out a little weird, but weird good and it sucked me right in.  I binge watched season after season and then caught up on the current episodes.  I couldn’t get enough.  Then the current season came to an end, Netflix removed Doctor Who from their streaming list and I found myself yearning for more Doctor Who.  Then one day I went into the used bookstore to search for something new to read, but not really knowing what I was in the mood for.  Actually, I was at a total loss.  I kept looking at my “To Read” list on my Goodreads app and wasn’t finding any of the ones I’d hoped for.  I just kept wandering aimlessly hoping something would pop out at me and then I was just standing staring at a bookshelf in the back not really seeing the books, trying to make myself make a decision when I realized I was staring at an entire row of Doctor Who books.  A huge grin spread across my face and the tension of finding the right book left my body.  I sat down and started pulling them all off the shelf and reading the backs to see which one I would buy.  They all sounded like fun, but I finally settled on Only Human by Gareth Roberts.

Book Synopsis:  Reports of a time disturbance lead the Ninth Doctor to modern-day London, where he discovers a Neanderthal Man, twenty-eight thousand years after his race became extinct.  A trip back to the dawn of humanity only deepens the mystery: who are these strange humans from the future now living in the distant past?  The Doctor must learn the truth about the Osterberg experiment before history is changed forever. 

I had a peek inside and saw that this adventure also included Rose Tyler and Jack Harkness and I was completely sold.  Those three together on the show were always fun, but would they be just as good in print?  From the minute they hit the pages, I really felt like I was in a Doctor Who episode.  I shouldn’t have been surprised by that as I recognized Gareth Roberts’ name as the writer of several of the Doctor Who TV episodes, but I was.  I had so much fun reading this book from beginning to end.  The Doctor and Rose are tasked with the adventure of going back to the Neanderthal age in the TARDIS to solve the mystery of how Das the Neanderthal ended up in modern-day London and poor Jack is left behind to babysit Das and help him acclimate to his new home as his trip to the future was a one way ticket.

The Doctor and Rose make their way back in time and find the humans from the future, but they are very different from any humans either of them have ever encountered before.  These humans are all pleasing to the eye and seem to have mastered their emotions making it harder to figure out what’s really going on because no one seems concerned about anything, but the experiment they were sent there to do.  Our time traveling pair  end up in one of the most vulnerable situations they’ve been in leaving you to really wonder how they are going to get it of it and making it hard to put the book down.  I was disappointed at first that Jack wasn’t going to join the Doctor and Rose on their adventure, but every few chapters, there are journal entries from Das and Jack outlining how their time in the future is going and each entry is just hilarious, adding to the enjoyment of the book immensely.  I highly recommend this book to any Doctor Who fan looking to fill that hole left by the season break.

