I am home sick and am not happy about it.  I had planned  a totally different post for today, but I my brain is a little foggy, so instead of just skipping the post altogether, I thought I would do something a little easier on my brain and give you, the reader, a chance to get to know me a little better.  I wrote down a bunch of questions on little papers and picked 10 of them out of a jar to answer.

  1. Next book I plan to read – I just went to the library to stock up on books to read and found that Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty was finally available. I have been wanting to read this one ever since it was released.  I read,  The Husband’s Secret, in 2014 and loved it.  It was one of those books that was well written and I couldn’t put it down.  I hope this book is just as good.
  2. Favorite place to shop – I have 2 favorites at the moment.  The first being Barnes & Noble, the closest bookstore to my house.  I go at least once a week, sometimes to buy a book and sometimes to just look around and scan books into my goodreads.com TBR list.  I also love to look at the board games and of course the Funko Pops, which leads me to the second place to shop, Hot Topic.  I started collecting Funko Pop Vinyl Figures over the last year.  I have loved them for many years, but resisted buying them until the 1st Harry Potter series came out, then I just had to get them.
  3. 3 Authors I would like to meet – As mentioned in my blog about the book, Revival by Stephen King, he is on the top of my list of authors to meet.  I would also like to meet, Dean Koontz.  Like Stephen King, I have been reading his books for years and years, but the Odd Thomas series, which I just finished this year, is what I would really  like to know more about. And third on my list is Libba Bray.  The first book I read, or should I say, listened to, was Beauty Queens.  Libba Bray reads it herself which I didn’t realize till the end when she answered questions about the book.  She is a great reader and the production of this audiobook was well done.  I laughed out loud and genuinely enjoyed it.  I have since read a few of her other books and loved them all.  She seems like she would be quite an interesting person to meet.
  4. What kind of games do I like to play? –  As a kid, my family played a lot of games and I have been a big fan of games ever since.  Scrabble has always been a favorite.  My sister, Sarah and I used to play every time we got together.  We would sit in the kitchen of her tiny apartment and play all day while we talked about anything and everything. I have quite a collection of Scrabble games from the original board game to Disney Scrabble that has cards that let you do things like extend the board beyond its borders.  Other favorites are Yahtzee, Scene It Harry Potter edition, Quibbler, Cards Against Humanity, and the Mexican Train game.
  5. Where do I work? –  I am a Preschool teacher in an in-home daycare.  I used to work with at-risk teenagers for many years.  I hated reading and seeing what had been done to them and I tried to do everything I could to help them gain life/coping skills, but eventually I made the decision to leave that job and start working with younger kids.  I thought maybe if I worked with younger kids, I could be one of the people in a child’s life that helped them create a good foundation for learning, problem solving, and social skills.  It has been a challenging and rewarding career change.
  6. Favorite pinball machine – I have so many favorites.  My best friend, Kara, and I met in the dorms at college.  We used to go down to the snack store in the Commons and then we would hangout and play “Star Wars” pinball.  Since then, we have played many different pinball games over the years at various arcades and pizza places and our leading favorite was always “Funhouse” with the creeping talking puppet head named, Rudy, that taunts and laughs at you as you play.  Good creepy fun.
  7. Current Netflix Binge – I just recently started “Daredevil”.  I kept hearing good things about it from many people from different parts of my life, so I thought it had to be worth a watch.  So far so good.
  8. Book(s) I plan to re-read this year – I am planning to re-start the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare so I can get back on track with the series and finally finish it.  I have been watching the new show, Shadowhunters, on Freeform and it has inspired me to get back into the series.
  9. Favorite sweets – Chocolate and nuts together are something I find really hard to resist, but if you really want to know what I look forward to when I am having a sweets attack, it’s a hot fudge sundae with rocky road ice cream, banana slices, whip cream, and nuts with no cherry.  Well either that, or a warm piece of my Granny’s Chocolate  Mayonnaise cake with vanilla ice cream.
  10. #TeamCap or #TeamIronman?  – Today’s number question with the release of Captain America Civil War.  I am #TeamIronman.  I was hoping to see the movie tonight, but waking up feeling like crap screwed up those plans.  Now I am just hoping I am feeling better over the weekend so I can go see it.  Cross your fingers for me!!
