Last week, I joined a gym.  I think the last time I joined a gym was back in the 90’s.  Boy, have things really changed.  I went and visited several different gyms to check out how each gym felt, take the tours, and see what each deal was really offering.   I finally decided on one.  I’m not going to name names because I’m not trying to sell you on any particular gym because I feel everyone has a different comfort level.  I really want to get in shape and lose weight.  I have been at the doctor’s office a lot recently and they take my weight each time and I was shocked at how much I had gained over the last year.  I admit I have been feeling out of control, depressed and a little crazy and seeing my weight is what really hit me in the face and said, “Get ahold of the reigns, take control and cut this shit out.”  So keeping that in mind, I was really picky about the gym I chose.  I didn’t want to join a gym that I wouldn’t actually keep going to because it made me uncomfortable.  Trust me, there are some out there where the color scheme was just “Wow, Really?” or the layout left me feeling claustrophobic and I couldn’t even take the tour.  I finally found one that worked.  I was nervous going in the first time after signing up, but then I thought who cares what these people think?  I am here for me. My goals aren’t their goals.  It was interesting to see what age can do to perspective.  I have been going every other day so far and am loving it more and more each time even though I come home exhausted and completely sore and just wanting to give up.  My husband has been wonderful; rubbing on the Bengay, telling me how proud he is of me and encouraging me to keep pushing forward.  Now I need to work on the harder part of losing weight, the “how and why I eat.”  This is definitely going to be a challenge for me, but I think I am finally ready for it.  I need to cut the calories and figure out what is pushing me to eat when I’m not really hungry.  AAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!  It’s going to be hard, but I gotta do it.  I THINK I CAN!  I THINK I CAN! I THINK CAN!  Or maybe Nike’s slogan is better for this instance, “Just Do it”.  Here I go!

