When I was a kid, I never liked reading on my own.  I loved it when other people like my parents or the lady at the library, would read to me. But it was never the same experience whenever I would try to pick up a book on my own.  Everyone in my family loved reading and I was always jealous of the time they would spend with their books.  I always got tired or would get headaches which would lead to visits with the optometrists.  I got reading glasses at one point, but I never wore them after the excitement wore off and the same problems eventually started happening again.  It wasn’t until I got into high school that I finally saw a good optometrist that prescribed a pair of glasses that changed my life.  I could see so clearly.  It was weird.  The optometrist I went to was in a building in downtown San Francisco.  I remember the day I picked up my glasses.  I walked out of the building and down to Union Square.  I could read street signs, there were definite lines around windows and doors, colors were brighter, it was amazing.  I just walked around looking in all the department store windows, watching people walk down the street really seeing their faces and their expressions, and as I sat on the bus ride home, I could read all the billboards and advertisements.  I started doing better in school and eventually, I started reading for fun.  I started with cheap mysteries I found at my local bookstore.  I devoured them, especially when I started reading “The Cat Who…” series by Lilian Jackson Braun.  I loved Mr. Qwilleran and his 2 cats Koko and Yum Yum.  When I finally got a car, I started listening audiobooks on my long drives between home and college.  Mysteries kept my mind thinking and awake.  I really liked to listen to medical mysteries like those by Robin Cook or science fiction stories like those told by Michael Crichton, Dean Koontz and Stephen King.  Stephen King became an audiobook favorite.  To this day I prefer to always listen to Stephen King’s books.  While I was in college, I rarely had time for casual reading.  Usually the audiobooks I listened to on my road trips home on school breaks were the only fun reading I got to do.  One of the first things I did when I graduated from college was to raid the used book store for the all the bestsellers I had missed while studying.  I also got myself a library card.  That was one of the best things I ever did.  The library has kept me from going broke for sure.  I have branched out into many other genres because of the library and websites like Goodreads.com where I am able to read reviews by other people like me.  After being a reader for many years now, it seems that my favorites still are the simple mysteries, which leads me to the book I am currently reading, “Raging Heat” by Richard Castle.  I started watching the TV show when they began showing the reruns on TNT.  I wasn’t going to read the books because I didn’t think they would be as fun as the TV show, but I’m glad I did.  They are quick reads that draw me in fast and don’t let me down. At least not yet.  Knock on wood.  “Raging Heat” so far seems to be working itself up to be a pretty good story.  I think I just got to the first real twist in the mystery.  Can’t wait to see how it ends.  I am so glad I saw that optometrist so long ago.  I can’t imagine a life without all the stories I have read.

