Every year I think about making a list of resolutions, but then I don’t because my brain convinces me that there is no point.  That little voice in my head tells me I won’t complete them.  The little voice in my head is very negative and has been for quite some time.  I want to change that, but I’m not sure how.  Last year I started out the year so well and it ended badly.  I was really let down and bothered that I couldn’t continue the progress I had made.  I had started walking a couple of times a week and got to walking almost everyday.  I completed three 5K walks, one of them timed and I did well.  Then that exhaustion stepped in and took over.  I tried to fight it, but I only got more exhausted the more I tried to continue to exercise.  The exhaustion lasted so long, I got depressed.  From there I spun out.  I am trying to climb out of that depression now, but it’s hard.  So here I am now debating making resolutions, wondering if making them would be good, you know give me something to work towards, or if they would just send me spiraling down again.  I have been thinking about this a lot.  Probably overthinking it as usual.  So today, I am making the decision to go ahead and do it.  I’m going to make that list.

My 2016 Resolutions:

  1. Start walking again – I need to start out slow and get back to where I was
  2. Complete at least five 5K walks – I will try and do one every 2 months after February
  3. Read 50 books – try to start actual reading again, not just listening to audiobooks
  4. Continue coloring for stress – really helps…if you haven’t tried it, find a coloring book that really interests you and go for it.
  5. Start my own business this year and quit my job – I have been thinking about this for the past 2 years and it has come time to put up or shut up
  6. Write a blog entry at least 3 times a week – I know I suck at writing, but writing is a stress relief too, so hopefully I will get better with time
  7. Cook more and eat out less – This past 6 months of being exhausted has forced me to eat out more often.  I love to cook.  I love trying new recipes.  I must make time to cook.  I am soooooooooooooooo tired of take out.

I’ll stop with 7.  Seven has always been a lucky number.  I hope it is for me.  It’s not going to be easy and I know I have to put in the willpower and the energy to make this happen and not just depend on luck.  I must also continue the CPAP machine at night to help with the exhaustion.  I’m getting too old to not try or I’m not going to get much older.  I have found a lot to live for, so here’s to the reboot.  Cross your fingers for me!

